University of Pennsylvania Reviews | GradReports (2022)

Programs with 5+ Reviews

Architecture Master's 3.48
Biomedical Sciences Master's 4.56
Business Master's 4.31
Law Doctorate 3.73
MBA Master's 3.91
Public Administration Master's 4.07
Public Health Master's 3.88
Social Work Master's 3.62

Student & Graduate Reviews

Charles

  • Reviewed: 6/20/2021
  • Degree: Pre-Medicine
  • Graduation Year: 2016

"I want to share I empathize for a student who didn't like Penn. I had a great study and great experience here. Ultimately that's what you look for in a group of peers you spend four years of your life and study with. The teachers are great. They are not Church apologetic teachers, when you are not learning to expectations they will call you on that. However they do acknowledge contribution in the classroom and in workplace performance.Philadelphia is a Awesome University City. Plentiful locations for you to study for coursework and many outings and places to go when you need some time away from study and classmates"

Mary

  • Reviewed: 5/6/2020
  • Degree: Nurse Practitioner (Family)
  • Graduation Year: 2022

"I hate to say this, but UPENN'S graduate school of nursing is terrible. The education is worse than my two undergraduate degrees from non ivy league schools. Some classes are fine and you feel like they want you to learn and others are so hard it's like the professor is enjoying seeing how many people he or she can fail. My advisor didn't reply to my emails for a year and I finally was given a different one. The nursing school building is extremely outdated. You're lucky if your lecture room has two outlets. Class can last from 3-9 hours at a time. Not much thought is given to much needed breaks. There is a long list of requirements ranging from vaccines to fbi fingerprints to obtaining PA,DE, and NJ licenses. It's quite confusing and there is no help from the school or professors to streamline the process. Beyond the school of nursing, the mental health center is horrible, the learning center is useless, and parking is expensive and far from the nursing building. I can honestly say I have hated nearly my entire experience and going to an ivy won't matter once you graduate. NPs are in demand and that will only increase. I could go on. I thought about transferring, but other schools would only accept two transfer classes."

M M

(Video) University of Pennsylvania Review. Don't go to college until you see our Penn University reviews
  • Reviewed: 5/26/2019
  • Degree: Business
  • Graduation Year: 2014

"Undergraduate business school was a unique experience although I recommend it in terms of long-term job prospects and the practical application of your skills almost immediately post-college (this is a HUGE bonus I can't understate), I think the environment could also be competitive and involve intense pressure as a result. If someone is thinking through studying business, I would recommend they balance their coursework with liberal arts class, and don't lose sight of classes that challenge their critical thinking and imaginative abilities."

"One truly gets the "IVY League" feel here! Penn has provided me with a holistic development, that I am very thankful for. The amount of support provided by the University in all aspects of the students' lives is commendable. A proud Penn alum for life!"

Disappointed

  • Reviewed: 4/4/2018
  • Degree: MSW
  • Graduation Year: 2018

"If I could do it over, I would chose a way less expensive school with staff that cared more about the work we want to do instead of promoting their own causes. The program is EXTREMELY overpriced with tuition, especially for an MSW degree that won't be making nearly as much money as it deserves. The certificate programs are stressed greatly, and most of them require a fee which is just another way to get money because most social workers don't need a certificate to practice in whatever field they are interested in. A lot of the students are also pretentious and entitled because they go to "Penn." I would not recommend the SP2 program to anyone who wants to make a decent living. I believe I could have gotten just as good of an education at any other MSW program."

John Staton

  • Reviewed: 2/15/2018
  • Degree: Business
  • Graduation Year: 2019

"I am currently attending the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania and am enrolled in their MBA program for Executives. It is very challenging but it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The schools has an amazing faculty and the academics are out of this world."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 12/19/2017
  • Degree: Social Work
  • Graduation Year: 2019

"Overall I had a positive experience. The professors are great and interested in getting to know you and working with you. As with all social work programs, there are many problems, but you get out what you put in. If you are interested in medical social work then this is a great program because many of their field placements are in hospitals. My biggest complaint is the lack of community even though it is a small program, however they are open to student's criticism and are working to improve it."

(Video) i don't like upenn (is upenn worth it? the toxic culture of ivies)

Ryan S.

  • Reviewed: 12/5/2017
  • Degree: MBA
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"There are three things that you get from a business school 1) the brand, 2) the network, and 3) the education in that order. After complete my Wharton MBA in 2017, I must say Wharton gave me all three. Wharton has a true brand especially in Silicon Valley and in financial services. I first realized this when I was applying for internships at an internship fair open to students from multiple schools. It is kinda hard to explain but I felt recruiters responded differently to me. Ultimately I got 6 interviews and ended up with my first choice. As I started to really dig into the Wharton network, I realized that these weren't just people in an alumni book. These people truly cared about the students and school. I can recall at least 3 different occasions where I called on alumni for insights about there industry and I was blown away by the speed and deep of the response. And by the time I graduated, I truly felt that I learned a lot, Not was the experience very challenging but also I had been around the world with our Global Business Week\Global Modular courses and applied my skillset in so many situations. It was truly amazing! Hence I give it 5 stars!!"

Johanna

  • Reviewed: 9/19/2017
  • Degree: Higher Education
  • Graduation Year: 2018

"I never knew there would be so much to learn about Higher Education. My seminar style classes make it easy to get into depth about important issues, and I really get to interact with my professor and fellow students on a personal level. I have no doubt that the education I receive will help me enter my desired field of study and pursue the career of my dreams."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Nursing
  • Graduation Year: 2013

"Great program, very expensive. Would recommend program to future students."

QuakerGrad2013

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Biomedical Sciences
  • Graduation Year: 2013

"Penn provided a wonderfully flexible, challenging, supportive, and friendly environment. It really was a personalized program and I continue to benefit professionally from being part such a wonderful community."

Jerry

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Counseling
  • Graduation Year: 2016
(Video) COLLEGE DORM ROOM TOUR 2019 | UPenn

"University of Pennsylvania is a world-class institution. It benefits from having top researchers across a number of fields and high quality facilities. The faculty are knowledgable and well-suited for their positions."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Architecture
  • Graduation Year: 2012

"Studying Architecture for my Master's Degree at the University of Pennsylvania was a great experience. Instructors taught a range of approaches towards design and we were given the opportunity to experiment and express ourselves. Facilities have also improved following my graduation, allowing for greater access to technology for students."

NYC

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Business
  • Graduation Year: 2008

"One of the best business institutions in the country. The school offers an amazing network, classes taught by leaders and experts in the field, and a wealth of personal and professional enrichment opportunities."

"There was difficult course work but rewarding outcomes. All of my professors were very helpful and wanted us to succeed. My favorite aspect of this school waa working in the lab doing research on spray layer by layer thin films."

AJJ

  • Reviewed: 9/1/2017
  • Degree: Engineering
  • Graduation Year: 2013
(Video) Pros and Cons of UPENN!

"The university is one of the best, if you get it, make it count"

Ishara Lareef

  • Reviewed: 6/15/2017
  • Degree: Liberal Studies
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"As a college student at the University of Pennsylvania, I had the opportunity to take many different courses in fields ranging from art history to biochemistry to clinical healthcare management. In each and every one of these courses, I learned a great amount of information from professors who are world renowned in their respective fields. I constantly felt supported by my professors and peers to strive for the very best and to explore my various interests. I ended up deciding to major in the Biological Basis of Behavior (BBB), an interdisciplinary major that combined the fields of neuroscience and psychology. This major opened my eyes to the way our brain works on a molecular level, and made me excited to delve deeper into the unknown realm of neurobiology. At Penn, I also had the opportunity to conduct research at Penn's Center for Mental Health Policy. Here, I worked with researchers who were innovators in the field of health care and was given the opportunity to publish numerous scientific papers. There are countless opportunities for students to conduct research in whichever field piques their interests. My experiences at Penn inspired me to further my scientific knowledge and I ended up applying to medical school in my senior year. I will be attending the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth this fall, and I feel extremely well prepared for the rigors of medical school and for my future medical career. I owe all of these opportunities to my time at the University of Pennsylvania, and I would encourage students to apply to this school for the numerous opportunities that will be made available to them there."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 5/22/2017
  • Degree: Engineering
  • Graduation Year: 2010

"It is a great experience for grad school. Attentive faculty, and some great research labs."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 5/22/2017
  • Degree: MBA
  • Graduation Year: 2008

"Best business school ever with real world knowledge from the best educators"

"Good school for networking and meeting other that will also be successful in the same fields of your study."

Videos

1. 10 Best Public Universities in Pennsylvania, USA New Ranking | University of Pittsburgh
(Student Career)
2. 🏫California University of Pennsylvania Worth it ? + Review!🎓
(Jimmy a Geek)
3. Why I Chose Hill Over The Quad | UPenn College Houses
(Christine Zhang)
4. UPenn M&T Program Informational Session
(The College Information Hub)
5. The Truth About College Dining - UPenn Dining Hall Tour
(Christine Zhang)
6. GYM TOUR AT UPENN
(Matt Wang)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Rueben Jacobs

Last Updated: 11/18/2022

Views: 6117

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (57 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rueben Jacobs

Birthday: 1999-03-14

Address: 951 Caterina Walk, Schambergerside, CA 67667-0896

Phone: +6881806848632

Job: Internal Education Planner

Hobby: Candle making, Cabaret, Poi, Gambling, Rock climbing, Wood carving, Computer programming

Introduction: My name is Rueben Jacobs, I am a cooperative, beautiful, kind, comfortable, glamorous, open, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.